John O'Groats to Land's End (Charity ride)

Discuss general riding stories and adventures here.
Mtaylor
Rides:: 1986 (C reg) Honda C90e

John O'Groats to Land's End (Charity ride)

Post by Mtaylor » Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:51 am

Morning everyone!
Myself and 2 friends had a rather random idea after a few too many beers one night last year of riding the country on our 90's (Camping the full route)
Logistics have been interesting but we are pretty much there. Roll on July!!
I just wanted to bounce this off the club members for a little advice and perhaps support for our trip!
We will be carrying the usual tools, tubes, spare tyre, plugs, oil, etc but is there anything that is a must for a trip such as this. any suggestions on checks prior to the trip (again apart from usual servicing etc) Sorry i'm no mechanic! (although i do have full breakdown cover :lol: - hopefully this wont be needed)
We are looking to do in excess of 300 miles per day and complete this in 4 days. I've seen this has pretty much been completed in 24 hours but any advice on this would be ideal.
If allowed i would love to share our JustGiving page to help us reach our target for Macmillan Cancer Support.
Appreciate any help :D
Thank you all.

Viper254
Rides:: C70C (12v) (1983), Suzuki Inazuma 250 (2016)

Re: John O'Groats to Land's End (Charity ride)

Post by Viper254 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:51 am

Hi bud,

I've done this on a similar bike, and the most boring part is after Minehead as you get past Bristol.

For the Midlands, you can push up through Wolverhampton, Stoke-on-Trent and then get to the good bits again by heading into the Peaks via Leek, or head over to Wales and have epic riding there.

There's loads of other options - but yeah, I found around Bristol hard going.

Good luck!

knapdog
Rides:: '96 C90, '83 C90C, '98 Honda Valkyrie

Post by knapdog » Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:57 am

Firstly, well done for doing this for charity.