Riding Abroad Queries

Discuss general riding stories and adventures here.
joecasson26
Rides:: Honda C90

Riding Abroad Queries

Post by joecasson26 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:01 pm

Hi!

I'm relatively new to biking...so please forgive any naivety! I've had a cub for 5 months or so now and you'll all be pleased to know I am thoroughly enjoying it (even through these winter months).

I love it so much that I am keen to do a trip abroad at some point in this year. My question is that I currently have only done a CBT to enable me to ride so far, I do intend to do a full bike test at some point. However, in lieu of saving for any abroad adventure I would be keen to avoid having to invest in a full licence before I go - if this is even possible. I have a full UK driving licence and have done so for 7 years.

There is a lot of conflicting information on-line from various sources, with the direct.gov information being incredibly vague whether you can leave the country with just a CBT certificate. If anyone can shed some light on the situation that would be great. I am hoping it is a case of letting the insurers know what you are doing and where you intend to go and for how long etc. and that once you leave the UK you are subject to the laws and whatever country you are riding in.

Thanks in advance. :D

digger06

Re: Riding Abroad Queries

Post by digger06 » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:23 pm

yes its an odd one this,
some definitive answers with references backing it up
would be good....

steveindenmark
Rides:: Moto Guzzi 1100i, Moto Guzzi Cardellino 65cc, Yamaha XT 250 Serow

Post by steveindenmark » Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:39 pm

There may be something of use in this link.

http://britishexpats.com/forum/france-7 ... rt-572684/

Leiba
Rides:: Red C90.

Post by Leiba » Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:46 pm

I think you need a full licence for the vehicle you intend to drive. So you could drive a car but not your bike.

Jon

Post by Jon » Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:35 pm